The Making of an Art Journal

Standard

Definition:   An art journal is a journal or diary that has a strong visual element to it, an expression of your artistic creativity and imagination, not filled only with words like a traditional journal.  It’s a journal for using your art to express your memories, dreams, and thoughts.  How you create the images, and what type of imagery you make, is entirely a matter of personal choice.  There are no rules. You can paint or draw, use pen and ink, photos, collage, doodle, stickers… anything and everything.

Definition by Marion Boddy-Evans, About.com Guide.  This website has a lot of great resources for creating your own art journal.

I have started one myself using a composition book from our local Dollar Store.  Since the cover is black, I roughly painted it with white Gesso to tone down the black so I could add papers without the black showing through.  I then added papers, torn from two different selections of Designer Series Paper (first layer is First Edition Specialty DSP and the flowers are from the Tea for Two DSP in the Spring Catalog).  The paper bag words (make &, affection, and i am) are from a bag we received at Convention 2012.  “I am…” was the theme of Convention in 2012.

Art Journal 002 Art Journal 003

I glued everything down with Mod Podge, matte finish glue.  I used a swirly stencil and Cashmere Texture Magic dimensional paint from Delta for the raised embossed images.

Art Journal 006

WOW!  Is this bright or what???  Well, I used another stencil from Delta to make the checkered design down the left side of the cover, front and back.  Then I sponged on some Pretty in Pink and Melon Mambo Classic inks from Stampin’ Up!  The Pretty in Pink ink coordinates with the Tea for Two DSP.

Well….this is just NOT what I wanted to see.  The Melon Mambo is way to bright and intense.  The Pretty in Pink is way too pale, I could not even see it as I was sponging it on.  So, art is always a “work in progress.”  Let me work on this for a while and I will have more to show you tomorrow.

Happy crafting!    -Sandra-

One response »

Leave a Reply

