Spring {Yard} Cleaning

Standard
I know you’ve noticed that I haven’t been posting much in the last few days.  That’s because we have had some unusually good weather here in the Willamette Valley – no rain!!  Since Sunday, I have been spending hours and hours in my yard pulling weeds; digging up old, dead plants; moving my Hens & Chicks from one side of the yard to the other; clearing a small pile of bark mulch off the driveway; and many other small tasks.  A few “after” pictures to show you what I’m talking about.  I don’t have any “before” pictures – too embarrassed to take photos!

011 (2) 020 (1)

On the left is an old bird feeder that has a wooden frame and a screen on the bottom to let the air circulate.  It was meant to sit on the ground so the “ground feeding” birds can get their seeds.  Well…too many cats in my neighborhood!  So, I took it and cleaned it up, put some good soil in it, and as you can see by the photo on the right, I planted some of the Hens & Chicks in it.

021 (1)

Another view of the side of the house with more transplanted Hens & Chicks.  Notice, no bark mulch on the driveway – it’s all on the bed of plantings.

016 (1)        015 (1)

The front yard on the sidewalk.  This is where I dug up the Hens & Chicks.  Also took out a bunch of weeds, dead grasses (the decorative type), a dead lavender bush, some kind of lilly which had taken over the area closer to the fence, and did I mention….weeds?  Still lots of work to do.

013 (1)

Final photo: the sidewalk area to the left is looking better, the pile of leaves and debris in the center is waiting for an empty yard waste bin (the two I have are chocked full now), there’s more weeds, dandelions, and a couple of  “save those purple flowers!” in the front of the photo.  As you can see, I need to finish installing the cottage stones around the tree and in the flower bed I’m creating to the right edge of the photo.
Well, that’s probably more than you ever wanted to know about me spare time activities!  Now I’m going back to some crafting & creating indoors with Stampin’ Up!

Happy crafting!    -Sandra-

One response »

  1. How lovely! Another place to be creative! I love my garden too, but it is still 30 degrees this week, and I am itching to get out there and start clean up! It took a pounding this year during Sandy and the blizzard Nemo. Love the shape of your flower beds and the stones!

    Like

Leave a Reply

