Sweetbriar Rose

Standard

I have been looking on the internet for some examples of cards made with the new Sweetbriar Rose stamp (#133806) from Stampin’ Up!  I decided to experiment with the new Blendabilities (page 212 of the 2014-2015 Annual Catalog) alcohol ink markers.  Here are 2 attempts so far:  ?????????? ??????????

The first card did not turn out like I had imagined.  I used the Sweetbriar Rose stamp and colored it in with the Blendabilities markers (Coastal Cabana, Old Olive, Cherry Cobbler, and Daffodil Delight).  I also used the new Work of Art stamp set for the background.  I should have stuck with the yellow swipe in the background with progressively lighter stamping of the Daffodil Delight ink.  I used the Old Olive on the bottom but even though I used the stamping off technique, it is still too dark.  Also, the yellow flowers look like they have halos.  I do like the Daffodil Delight seam binding ribbon!

The second card turned out better than the first.  I totally left off any background on this one.  Same Blendabilities were used to color in the flowers and leaves. For the leaves, I used both the lightest shade of the Old Olive and Daffodil Delight to give it a highlighted look.  The Sweetbriar Rose is stamped on Whisper White card stock and mounted on a piece of Daffodil Delight before adding to a Whisper White card base.  No ribbon on this card because I wanted the words to show.

So, seriously folks, please send me some suggestions and feedback.  I need more practice using the Blendabilities because, as you can see, I’m just not getting the blending part right.

Remember….paper crafting is a learning experience.  The more you practice, the better and more skillful you become.  Don’t be afraid to try something new.  Don’t compare yourself to others.  Use ideas from Pinterest and other online sites for inspiration but don’t be disappointed if your work of art is different – it is YOU!

So, if you are interested in purchasing any of these products or any other paper crafting supplies, please visit my Online Store HERE.

Happy crafting!     ~Sandra~

 

Leave a Reply

